SPECIAL COURT FOR SIERRA LEONE OUTREACH AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS OFFICE



Flashback to 2003: Two weeks after the groundbreaking, construction begins on the SCSL courthouse

PRESS CLIPPINGS

Enclosed are clippings of local and international press on the Special Court and related issues obtained by the Outreach and Public Affairs Office as at:

Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Press clips are produced Monday through Friday. Any omission, comment or suggestion, please contact Outreach and Public Affairs

Local News	
Swearing-In of RSCSL Judges and Handover / Independent Observer	Page 3
International News	
Special Court Hands Over Complex to Gov't Swears in / The New Republic	Page 4

Independent Observer Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Swearing-in of RSCSL Judges and Handover of the Special Court Complex to GOSL

The swearing-in of 16 Judges of the Residual Court for Sierra Leone and the hand-over of the Special Court complex to Government, is to take place at the SCSL courthouse on 2 December 2013 beginning at 9:00 a.m. prompt. There will be photo opportunities. The Judges, ten of whom are appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations and six by the Government of Sierra Leone, will comprise the RSCSL's Roster of Judges. They will exercise judicial functions in an ad hoc capacity on matters arising from the ongoing legal obligations of the Special Court for Sierra Leone. These could include the review of applications by convicts for early release or judicial review of their convictions. They may also be called to preside over any contempt of court proceedings.

The 16 judges are: (Appointed by the Government of Sierra Leone) Justice George Gelaga King, Justice John Bankole Thompson, Justice John Kamanda, Justice Vivian Margarette Solomon, Justice Abdulai Hamid Charm and Justice Eku Roberts, all of Sierra Leone. (Appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations) Justice Richard Brunt Lussick (Samoa), Justice Pierre G. Boutet (Canada), Justice Renate Winter (Austria), Justice Teresa Anne Doherty (Northern Ireland), Justice Shireen Avis Fisher (USA), Justice Philip Nyamu Waki (Kenya), Justice Elizabeth Ibanda Nahamya (Uganda), Justice Oagile B. K. Dingake (Botswana), Justice Andrew John Hatton (UK) and Justice Isaack Lenaola (Kenya).

Immediately after the ceremony, Registrar Binta

Mansaray will officially hand over the Courthouse and the Special Court complex to Attorney-General Franklyn Bai Kargbo, on behalf of the Government of Sierra Leone. A "soft opening" of the Sierra Leone Peace Museum will follow.

The Government of Sierra Leone will host an official closing ceremony later in the day at State House.

The Special Court is an independent tribunal established jointly by the United Nations and the Government of Sierra Leone. It is mandated to bring to justice those who bear the greatest responsibility for atrocities committed in Sierra Leone after 30 November 1996.

The New Republic (Liberia)

Tuesday, 26 November 2013

Special Court Hands Over Complex to Gov't. - Swears in 16 RSCSL Judges

The Special Court of Sierra Leone sitting in The Hague that prosecuted former President Charles G. Taylor and found him guilty of "adding and abetting" Sierra Leone rebels in the country's civil war is expected to swear in 16 Judges of the Residual Court for Sierra Leone.

The swearing-in ceremony takes place December 2, 2013 at the courthouse of the Sierra Leone Special Court in Freetown and it coincides with the hand-over of the Special Court complex to the Government of Sierra Leone.

In a release, the Judges, ten of whom are appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations and six by the Government of Sierra Leone, will comprise the RSCSL's Roster of Judges. They will exercise judicial functions in an ad hoc capacity on matters arising from the ongoing legal obligations of the Special Court for Sierra Leone.

These could include the review of applications by convicts for early release or judicial review of their convictions. They may also be called to preside over any contempt of court proceedings.

The release maintained that the 16 judges are appointed by the Government of Sierra Leone, Justice George Gelaga King, Justice John Bankole Thompson, Justice Jon Kamanda, Justice Vivian Margarette Solomon, Justice Abdulai Hamid Charm and Justice Eku Roberts, all of Sierra Leone.

(Appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations) Justice Richard Brunt Lussick (Samoa), Justice Pierre G. Boutet (Canada), Justice Renate Winter (Austria), Justice Teresa Anne Doherty (Northern Ireland), Justice Shireen Avis Fisher (USA), Justice Philip Nyamu Waki (Kenya), Justice Elizabeth Ibanda Nahamya (Uganda), Justice Oagile B. K. Dingake (Botswana), Justice Andrew John Hatton (UK) and Justice Isaack Lenaola (Kenya).

"Immediately after the ceremony, Registrar Binta Mansaray will officially hand over the Courthouse and the Special Court complex to Attorney-General Franklyn Bai Kargbo, on behalf of the Government of Sierra Leone. A "soft opening" of the Sierra Leone Peace Museum will follow. The Government of Sierra Leone will host an official closing ceremony later in the day at State House", the release noted.

The Special Court is an independent tribunal established jointly by the United Nations and the Government of Sierra Leone. It is mandated to bring to justice those who bear the greatest responsibility for atrocities committed in Sierra Leone after 30, November 1996.